de | fr | en


News


Building crooks in g, f and e for a Cor solo Tabard à Lyon

more...


Instruments for sale.

more...


Archive (older articles)


July 2018

Restauration of a german Waldhorn from Wernecke Berlin 1868

more...


April 2018

in collaboration with Isabel Osselaere: development of a new method to restore painted bells.

more...


November 2017

Successful revival: revitalization of a Klappentrompete von Franz Stöhr, Prague around 1830.

more...


July 2017

New! I built a Sauterelle ascendant for a Courtois natural horn.

more...


January 2017

Inspired from an old Raoux-Millereau catalog I built a Sauterell for an original Courtois Neuve Ainé.

more...


November 2016

A very special instrument is leaving my workshop.

more...


April 2016

Gerne empfange ich Sie ab 18. April 2016 in meinem neuen Atelier am Heckenweg 1, 3007 Bern.

more...


Summer 2015

Summer academy 2015, Academy for early music Bruneck/Brunico, Italy. Martin Mürner’s talk: Horns (or brass instruments) in "Viennese Classical Music" - "Insight into the work of a historically aware instrument restorer"

more...


Research Projects

The four project have been implemented at the Berne University of the Arts.


AGILITÉ, HOMOGÉNÉITÉ ET BEAUTÉ

(Agility, homogeneity and beauty)

This research project looks into the building, the typology and the playing techniques of the family of the saxhorns that were developed by Adolphe Sax (1814-1894) in the mid-19th century. It studied both, the repertoire as well as the line-up of the Sax-Banda common in the Parisian Opera and within contemporary French military music. The bases for the project were the 19 saxhorns owned by the Burri collection in Bern. As part of the project we transcribed original compositions for saxhorns that subsequently were used for two concerts, one in Bern and one in Brussels. Martin Mürner's part in the project was to restore the instruments and make them playable.  more ...


Historically Accurate Brass Instrument Manufacturing

This project deepens the understanding in materials and manufacturing technologies of original brass instruments. It examines the correlation of material, the thickness and strength of the horn’s wall and the quality of the sound and differences in playing the instrument. Whilst analysing the different materials used in the 19th century the goal was to recreate a new type of brass sheet that would come as close as possible to the original composition. Within the team Martin Mürner researched the layouts of historical workshops partly through failure reports of Parisian instrument makers. more ...


LE COR CHAUSSIER

The "Cor Chaussier" is an onitonic brass instrument with vents. It was developed by Henri Chaussier working for the Millereau firm in the 1880's and was designed to be a modern vessel taking the rich sounding natural horn into the 20th century. This research project puts a spotlight on the Chaussier horn and its positioning within the musical practice and education in 19th century France. The instrument allowed the musician to change key using a piston without interrupting the playing. In this way one could play in all keys applying the same techniques as playing a natural horn. Martin Mürner supervised the built of a replica based on the only surviving "Cor Chaussier" kept at the MIM in Brussels. more ...


Corrosion

To preserve a historical instrument as well as possible creates a dilemma. Either you play it and it suffers through wear and tear and corrosion, or it is placed in a museum where it looses its voice and is reduced to being a statue. This predicament was the basis of a research project entitled "Korrosion". For the first time a team of specialists measured and researched phenomena of corrosion inside brass instruments. Furthermore the team started a series of long term experiments to find ways of usage that enhance conservation as well as methods of preventative conservation. more ...

Martin Mürner +41 78 615 29 02  contact 

Copyright © 2015-20, Martin Mürner. All Rights Reserved.

de | fr | en


Actualités


Fabriquer des tons en sol, fa et mi pour un cor solo de Tabard à Lyon

en savoir plus...


Instruments à vendre.

en savoir plus...


Archive (des articles anciens)


Juillet 2018

Restauration d'un Waldhorn allemand de Wernecke Berlin 1868

en savoir plus...


Avril 2018

En collaboration avec Isabel Osselaere: développement d’une nouvelle méthode de restauration des pavillons pains.

en savoir plus...


Novembre 2017

Réanimation réussie: revitalisation d'une Klappentrompete de Franz Stöhr, Prague à 1830.

en savoir plus...


Juillet 2017

Je viens de construire une Sauterelle ascendant pour un Courtois.

en savoir plus...


Janvier 2017

Inspired from an old Raoux-Millereau catalog I built a Sauterell for an original Courtois Neuve Ainé.

en savoir plus...


Novembre2016

Un instrument très particulier va sortir de mon atelier.

en savoir plus...


Avril 2016

Gerne empfange ich Sie ab 18. April 2016 in meinem neuen Atelier am Heckenweg 1, 3007 Bern.

en savoir plus...


Eté 2015

Académie estivale 2015 Académie de musique ancienne de Brunico, Italie . Martin Mürner (28 et 29 juillet 2015), conférencier: "Le Cor à l’époque du classicisme viennois" - Aperçu du travail d’un restaurateur historiquement informé.

en savoir plus....


PROJETS DE RECHERCHE

Les quatre projets ont été réalisés à l' Haute école des arts de Berne.


AGILITÉ, HOMOGÉNÉITÉ ET BEAUTÉ

Ce projet de recherche jette un regard sur la facture, la typologie et les techniques de jeu des saxhorns, famille d’instruments développée par Adolphe Sax (1814-1894) au milieu du 19e siècle. La recherche couvre le répertoire et également la distribution de la "banda Sax" courante à l’Opéra de Paris et dans la musique militaire française de l’époque. La base du projet est constituée des 19 saxhorns que l’on retrouve dans la collection Burri, à Berne. Une partie du projet consistait à transcrire des compositions originales pour saxhorns qui furent jouées lors de deux concerts, à Berne et à Bruxelles. Martin Mürner était chargé de restaurer à un état de jeu les instruments utilisés pour ce projet. En savoir plus… (en anglais et en allemand)


LA FACTURE HISTORIQUEMENT INFORMÉE DES INSTRUMENTS DE CUIVRES

Ce projet permet d’accroître notre compréhension des matériaux et des technologies de facture utilisés sur les instruments de cuivres originaux. L’objet principal de la recherche est d’examiner la corrélation entre le matériel, l’épaisseur et la résistance du métal utilisé, et la qualité du son et les différences de jeu de l’instrument. Tout en analysant les différents matériaux utilisés au 19e siècle, l’objectif était de recréer un type de feuille en cuivre aussi proche que possible de celles utilisées à l’époque. Au coeur de l’équipe de ce projet, Martin Mürner a orienté sa recherche sur les équipements utilisés dans les ateliers des facteurs d’instruments parisiens de l’époque, examinant notamment les rapports de faillite. En savoir plus… (en allemand)


LE COR CHAUSSIER

Le Cor Chaussier est un instrument de cuivre à valves de type omnitonique. Il fut inventé par Henri Chaussier, qui collabora avec la firme Millereau dans les années 1880, dans le but de développer un instrument moderne capable de conserver la riche sonorité du cor naturel. Ce projet de recherche met en vedette le cor Chaussier et sa place importante dans la pratique musicale et l’éducation en France au 19e siècle. Cet instrument permettait au musicien, à l’aide d’un système de pistons, de changer les tonalités sans interrompre le jeu. De cette façon, l’instrumentiste pouvait jouer dans toutes tonalités en conservant la technique de jeu propre au cor naturel. Martin Mürner a supervisé la fabrication d’une réplique basée sur le seul exemplaire connu d’un cor Chaussier, qu’on retrouve aujourd’hui au Musée des instruments de musique de Bruxelles. En savoir plus… (en allemand)


CORROSION

La préservation d’un instrument historique pose un dilemme important: soit l’instrument est joué, ce qui en retour l’expose à une certaine détérioration et à la corrosion, soit il est placé dans un musée, où il perd sa voix et est réduit à l’état de statut inerte. Cette question est la base du projet de recherche intitulé "Corrosion". Pour la première fois, une équipe de spécialistes ont mesuré et recherché le phénomène de la corrosion à l’intérieur des instruments de cuivres. De plus, l’équipe de recherche a commencé une série d’expérimentations à long terme permettant de trouver des façons d’améliorer la conservation ainsi que d’élaborer des méthodes de conservation préventive. En savoir plus… (en anglais et en allemand)

Martin Mürner +41 78 615 29 02  Contact 

Copyright © 2015-20, Martin Mürner. Droits réservés.