de | fr | en


News


Building crooks in g, f and e for a Cor solo Tabard à Lyon

more...


Instruments for sale.

more...


Archive (older articles)


July 2018

Restauration of a german Waldhorn from Wernecke Berlin 1868

more...


April 2018

in collaboration with Isabel Osselaere: development of a new method to restore painted bells.

more...


November 2017

Successful revival: revitalization of a Klappentrompete von Franz Stöhr, Prague around 1830.

more...


July 2017

New! I built a Sauterelle ascendant for a Courtois natural horn.

more...


January 2017

Inspired from an old Raoux-Millereau catalog I built a Sauterell for an original Courtois Neuve Ainé.

more...


November 2016

A very special instrument is leaving my workshop.

more...


April 2016

Gerne empfange ich Sie ab 18. April 2016 in meinem neuen Atelier am Heckenweg 1, 3007 Bern.

more...


Summer 2015

Summer academy 2015, Academy for early music Bruneck/Brunico, Italy. Martin Mürner’s talk: Horns (or brass instruments) in "Viennese Classical Music" - "Insight into the work of a historically aware instrument restorer"

more...


Research Projects

The four project have been implemented at the Berne University of the Arts.


AGILITÉ, HOMOGÉNÉITÉ ET BEAUTÉ

(Agility, homogeneity and beauty)

This research project looks into the building, the typology and the playing techniques of the family of the saxhorns that were developed by Adolphe Sax (1814-1894) in the mid-19th century. It studied both, the repertoire as well as the line-up of the Sax-Banda common in the Parisian Opera and within contemporary French military music. The bases for the project were the 19 saxhorns owned by the Burri collection in Bern. As part of the project we transcribed original compositions for saxhorns that subsequently were used for two concerts, one in Bern and one in Brussels. Martin Mürner's part in the project was to restore the instruments and make them playable.  more ...


Historically Accurate Brass Instrument Manufacturing

This project deepens the understanding in materials and manufacturing technologies of original brass instruments. It examines the correlation of material, the thickness and strength of the horn’s wall and the quality of the sound and differences in playing the instrument. Whilst analysing the different materials used in the 19th century the goal was to recreate a new type of brass sheet that would come as close as possible to the original composition. Within the team Martin Mürner researched the layouts of historical workshops partly through failure reports of Parisian instrument makers. more ...


LE COR CHAUSSIER

The "Cor Chaussier" is an onitonic brass instrument with vents. It was developed by Henri Chaussier working for the Millereau firm in the 1880's and was designed to be a modern vessel taking the rich sounding natural horn into the 20th century. This research project puts a spotlight on the Chaussier horn and its positioning within the musical practice and education in 19th century France. The instrument allowed the musician to change key using a piston without interrupting the playing. In this way one could play in all keys applying the same techniques as playing a natural horn. Martin Mürner supervised the built of a replica based on the only surviving "Cor Chaussier" kept at the MIM in Brussels. more ...


Corrosion

To preserve a historical instrument as well as possible creates a dilemma. Either you play it and it suffers through wear and tear and corrosion, or it is placed in a museum where it looses its voice and is reduced to being a statue. This predicament was the basis of a research project entitled "Korrosion". For the first time a team of specialists measured and researched phenomena of corrosion inside brass instruments. Furthermore the team started a series of long term experiments to find ways of usage that enhance conservation as well as methods of preventative conservation. more ...

Martin Mürner +41 78 615 29 02  contact 

Copyright © 2015-20, Martin Mürner. All Rights Reserved.

de | fr | en


Aktuell


Bau von Bögen in G, F und E zu Cor Solo von Tabard à Lyon

mehr dazu...


Instrumente zu verkaufen.

mehr dazu...


Archiv (ältere Beiträge)


Juli 2018

Restaurierung eines deutschen Waldhorns von Wernecke Berlin 1868

mehr dazu...


April 2018

In Zusammenarbeit mit Isabel Osselaere: Entwicklung einer neuen Methode bemalte Schallstücke zu restaurieren.

mehr dazu...


November 2017

Gelungene Wiederbelebung:
Rückbau einer Klappentrompete von Franz Stöhr, Prag um 1830.

mehr dazu...


Juli 2017

Neu! Ich habe eine Sauterelle ascendant für ein Courtois Naturhorn gebaut.

mehr dazu...


Januar 2017

Inspired from an old Raoux-Millereau catalog I built a Sauterell for an original Courtois Neuve Ainé.

mehr dazu...


November 2016

Ein sehr spezielles Instrument verlässt soeben meine Werkstatt.

mehr dazu...


April 2016

Gerne empfange ich Sie ab 18. April 2016 in meinem neuen Atelier am Heckenweg 1, 3007 Bern.

mehr dazu...


Sommer 2015

Sommerakademie 2015 der Akademie für alte Musik Bruneck/Brunico, Italien. Martin Mürner, Vortrag: „Das Horn in der Wiener Klassik“ - „Einblicke in die Tätigkeit eines historisch-informierten Instrumentenrestaurators“.

mehr dazu...


Forschungsprojekte

Die vier Projekte wurden an der Hochschule der Künste Bern realisiert.


AGILITÉ, HOMOGÉNÉITÉ ET BEAUTÉ

Im Rahmen dieses Forschungsprojektes wurden Bau, Typologie und Spielweise der Familie der Saxhörner erforscht, die Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts von Adolphe Sax (1814–1894) entwickelt wurden. Gleichzeitig wurde das Repertoire und die Besetzung der Sax-Banda in der Pariser Opéra und der französischen Armeemusik untersucht. Die 19 Saxhörner der Sammlung Burri in Bern bildeten die Basis dieses Projekts. Originalpartituren der Kompositionen für Saxhörner wurden transkribiert und dienten als Vorlage für zwei Konzerte in Bern und Brüssel. M. Mürners Aufgabe bestand darin, die verschiedenen Saxhörner wieder spielbar zu machen.  Mehr dazu ...


HISTORISCH INFORMIERTER BLECHBLASINSTRUMENTENBAU

Das Projekt vertiefte Erkenntnisse über Material und Fertigungstechnik originaler Blechblasinstrumente. Klang- und Spieleigenschaften und deren Zusammenhang mit Material und Wandstärke der vorliegenden Instrumente wurden untersucht. Ziel war es, durch die Analyse verschiedener Bleche aus dem 19. Jahrhundert, ein Messingblech herzustellen, das der historischen Zusammensetzung möglichst nahe kommt. M. Mürner erforschte im Rahmen dieses Projektes die Ausstattung historischer Werkstätten, unter anderem anhand von Konkursberichten von Instrumentenbauern aus Paris. Mehr dazu ...


LE COR CHAUSSIER

Ausgehend von dem von Henri Chaussier und der Firma Millereau in den 1880er-Jahren entwickelten „Cor Chaussier“ – ein omnitonisches Horn mit Ventilen, welches den Klangfarbenreichtum des Naturhorns ins 20. Jahrhundert überführen sollte – wurde im vorliegenden Forschungsprojekt die Situation des Horns in der Bildung und Musikpraxis Frankreichs im 19. Jahrhundert ausgeleuchtet. „Le Cor Chaussier“ erlaubte den Musikern mittels Piston die Tonart ohne Unterbruch zu wechseln. Somit liessen sich alle Tonarten mit der Naturhorntechnik spielen. Ausgehend vom einzig überlieferten Exemplar des „Cor Chaussier“ aus dem MIM in Brüssel, wurde ein Nachbau angefertigt, dessen Supervision M. Mürner zufiel. Mehr dazu ...


KORROSION

Der Gebrauch historischer Instrumente aus Metall steckt in einem Dilemma: Ein Instrument, das gespielt wird, erleidet Schäden durch Abnutzung und Korrosion, wenn es hingegen stillgelegt und im Museum verwahrt wird, verliert es seine Stimme, wird auf sein Objekt-Sein reduziert. Mit dieser Problematik beschäftigte sich das Forschungsprojekt „Korrosion“. Erstmals wurden Korrosionsphänomene im Inneren der Messinginstrumente erforscht und gemessen, zusätzlich wurden in einer Langzeitstudie mit Möglichkeiten schonender Nutzung und präventiver Konservierung experimentiert. Mehr dazu ...

Martin Mürner +41 78 615 29 02  Kontakt 

Copyright © 2015-19, Martin Mürner. All Rights Reserved.